Experiments with film. Rolls 17 and 18.

So I bought a medium format camera off Ebay, a Voigtländer Bessa from 1930.

Voigtländer Bessa from 1930, it still works. I wonder what the Nikon D90 I took this shot will look like in 80 years.

Voigtländer Bessa from 1930, it still works. I wonder what the Nikon D90 I took this shot will look like in 80 years.

It came in pretty good shape. Glass is clear, bellows look fine, everything that should twist or turn does so, but some small bits of the leatherette are loose or missing.

Also, it came loaded with a roll of film. An exposed Kodacolor X, a film that was discontinued in 1974. I think these ladies must be dead and gone by now.

Ladies chillin'. Expired Kodacolor X in Maco Ecoprint 1+50 for 32 minutes at 20C.

Ladies chillin’. Expired Kodacolor X in Maco Ecoprint 1+50 for 32 minutes at 20C.

I ordered a couple of rolls of film at the same time as I won the bid for the camera. The camera made it through the mail before the film did. So there I was with a new camera and no film to run through it.

The desire to test it grew too big so I took the backing paper from the Kodacolor X film and respooled it with Lucky SHD100. Not quite the real deal, but it turned my camera from a brick into a (somewhat hard to frame) 135 panorama camera.

It was after dark, so we did the test shots with release cable and counted to three.

Doggie. Lucky SHD100 in Maco Ecoprint 1+50 for 32 minutes at 20C.

Doggie. Lucky SHD100 in Maco Ecoprint 1+50 for 32 minutes at 20C.

Of the eight frames just two were good. The others had bizarre composition, or were very blurred (no hand holding at 2 second shutter speed from now on. 🙂 ). On the other hand, they were very nice. If the 120 film gets delayed, I think I could repeat the experiment and MacGyver another roll of film.

No, mr Bond, I expect you to die. Lucky SHD100 in Maco Ecoprint 1+50 for 32 minutes at 20C.

No, mr Bond, I expect you to die. Lucky SHD100 in Maco Ecoprint 1+50 for 32 minutes at 20C.

The scans turned out better than my old ones. The Epson V700 seems a worthwhile investment. However, I’ll need some nicer film holders, the included ones were very tedious to work with.

This entry was posted by Wilhelm.

One thought on “Experiments with film. Rolls 17 and 18.

  1. Pingback: Roll 303. Why upgrade? | Photofying

Leave a Reply

