Experiments with film. Roll 35.

I bought a few boxes of Ultrafine Plus film (which appears to actually be Shanghai GP3), since it was cheap and I wanted something for my experiments with medium format photography that wouldn’t break the bank.

Office. Ultrafine Plus in Maco Ecoprint 1+50 for 20 min at 20C.

Office. Ultrafine Plus in Maco Ecoprint 1+50 for 20 min at 20C.

It seems the choice of materials for the backing paper was unfortunate. The paper stock reacts with the emulsion and gives very large and strange grain. I think the numbers and dots visible in the pictures actually are where the film was protected by the print on the backing paper.

Tree. Ultrafine Plus in Maco Ecoprint 1+50 for 20 min at 20C.

Tree. Ultrafine Plus in Maco Ecoprint 1+50 for 20 min at 20C.

I’m not very fond of the effect, so I have asked Ultrafine for a refund. We’ll see what happens.

This entry was posted by Wilhelm.

2 thoughts on “Experiments with film. Roll 35.

  1. I had this problem because light striked through the backing paper…
    I’m interested in their answer, but I ain’t sure it’s something chemical. BTW, yes it does come from the print on backing paper. Did you use old film ?

    • They had never encountered the problem before, but offered to refund any rolls I sent back (even developed rolls I think). I did some math on the shipping charges etc and sending back won’t give much more than the cost of sending them the film. So it seems I’ll keep it and use it for camera experiments and other unimportant stuff.

      One guy on the Film and Analogue Photography group on G+ had seen this phenomenon in two (out of fifty) rolls of Shanghai GP3 in the past. The theory was that it was something in the backing paper that caused the reaction that made the film splotchy. I’m thinking that the numbers and dots we see are actually the spots where the the print on the backing paper protected the emulsion, rather than the other way around, as I first assumed.

      No date on the rolls or packaging, so I don’t know if it has expired.

Leave a Reply

