Roll 44. Experiments with film. Multiple exposure.

I had a tilt shift lens for my Nikon D90 that I couldn’t use on my film cameras. But then I found a cheap Nikon F4 on Ebay, so now I can use all my lenses for film photography, which is rather nice.

Nikon F4

Nikon F4

The F4 was a camera for professionals in it’s day, heavy, but equipped with auto-focus, auto-loading and (with the right battery grip) a sustained frame rate of over five pictures per second. Perfect for the sports photographer that wanted to capture THE photography from the game. ‘It’s day’ would be twenty years ago today, and I think mine has been used extensively in those two decades. The exterior is scruffy, the four motors inside that facilitate all that auto magic are grinding and rumbling. But it works, and if it holds up for twenty rolls or so I’d say I got my money’s worth.

Elin. Ultrafine Xtreme 400 pushed to 1600 and developed in Maco Ecoprint 1+90 for 40 minutes at 20C.

Elin. Ultrafine Xtreme 400 pushed to 1600 and developed in Maco Ecoprint 1+90 for 40 minutes at 20C.

The very day I got the camera, my usual group of portraiture victims were visiting for the weekly game, so we tried the auto winding and shot bursts of pictures. Spray and pray that at least one of the frames turns out ok. It seems it did.

Joel. Ultrafine Xtreme 400 pushed to 1600 and developed in Maco Ecoprint 1+90 for 40 minutes at 20C.

Joel. Ultrafine Xtreme 400 pushed to 1600 and developed in Maco Ecoprint 1+90 for 40 minutes at 20C.

During the initial experiments I managed to trigger an auto rewind of the film, and lost the leader in the cassette. And it took some coaxing to get it out to resume the trials. The first few frames of our session turned into this monster collage.

Woman, dog and photographer. Ultrafine Xtreme 400 pushed to 1600 and developed in Maco Ecoprint 1+90 for 40 minutes at 20C.

Woman, dog and photographer. Ultrafine Xtreme 400 pushed to 1600 and developed in Maco Ecoprint 1+90 for 40 minutes at 20C.

Perhaps it has some artistic qualities of it’s own.

This entry was posted by Wilhelm.

Leave a Reply

