Roll 63. Architecture.

I got a photo permit for the place where I work, with the idea to shoot some of the fun architecture there. This far I had only shot at random on site, but last weekend I spent an hour there with my new Rapid Omega 100, a tripod and my Chinon CE-4 as light meter.

Going down. Ultrafine Plus ISO 100 in Maco Ecoprint 1+50 for 20 min at 20C.

Going down. Ultrafine Plus ISO 100 in Maco Ecoprint 1+50 for 20 min at 20C.

It was fun doing the shoot, and having the place all to myself. Less fun was to have the Ultrafine Plus go all spots, dots and numbers on me in development again. The track record for that film is horrible, I’ve shot two cartons of it now, and 50% of the rolls have been bad. Also I’ve noticed that the first frame on the last few rolls I’ve shot have been badly scratched. While the last problem could be due to careless spooling in the development I have my doubts.

Chairs. Ultrafine Plus ISO 100 in Maco Ecoprint 1+50 for 20 min at 20C.

Chairs. Ultrafine Plus ISO 100 in Maco Ecoprint 1+50 for 20 min at 20C.

I’ve been trying a new way to do the scanning. I read about it online and decided to try ‘HDR scanning’ myself. I set the red channel to be scanned at +1 stop, the blue channel to be scanned at -1 stop, and then scan the b/w negative as a colour negative. It renders the images in a very nice orange hue, and I don’t have to go in and adjust the levels much.

With six. Ultrafine Plus ISO 100 in Maco Ecoprint 1+50 for 20 min at 20C.

With six. Ultrafine Plus ISO 100 in Maco Ecoprint 1+50 for 20 min at 20C.

Shame about the spots, dots and numbers. Because the self portrait I did at the end of the session turned out pretty nicely.

With six, detail.

With six, detail.

Anyway, the camera works fine, not considering the 9 instead of 10 frames per roll. The Ultrafine Plus ISO 100 film does not work for me, and I still have two cartons of it in the freezer. I suppose it will come to use as I want to do a first test roll in new cameras, and as experiment film if I ever come around to building that pinhole camera I’ve been plotting for a couple of months.

This entry was posted by Wilhelm.

Leave a Reply

