Roll 71. Yashica C

I felt a void in my camera collection. I didn’t have a camera with a waist level finder. But I found a cheap Yashica C on Ebay and went for it. No word on the condition, but it turned out to work pretty well for a (presumably never serviced) 50 year old precision instrument.

Yashica C

The speeds from 1/25 all the way up to 1/300 work, the lower speeds and bulb stick randomly. Otherwise it is in good shape. Film winding works fine, the glass is in very good shape, focus appears to be pretty exact, and the test roll showed no light leaks.

Skiers. Shanghai GP3 in Maco Ecoprint 1+50 for 30 minutes at 20C.  (I had developed a roll with 1+50 for 20 minutes previously, but it turned out rather thin.  So for this roll I added 50% on the development time, and it turned out fine.)

Skiers. Shanghai GP3 in Maco Ecoprint 1+50 for 30 minutes at 20C. (I had developed a roll with 1+50 for 20 minutes previously, but it turned out rather thin. So for this roll I added 50% on the development time, and it turned out fine.)

The waist level finder is magical to behold. Now I understand why people talk so fondly of the various medium format cameras with waist level finder.

The lid on the top of the camera has been opened and I have composed a shot of a chair and the balcony door.

The lid on the top of the camera has been opened and I have composed a shot of a chair and the balcony door.

This entry was posted by Wilhelm.

Leave a Reply

