Roll 122. Rollei 35 LED

I take the camera bag with me everywhere I go these days, almost. But for the occasions when that is not convenient I have been looking for a small camera. The Zeiss Ikonta 521 is a good candidate, in spite of it taking medium format film it is pretty small.

Rollei 35 LED

Rollei 35 LED

But I came upon this camera on EBay with 3 minutes to go. I jumped in, won the bid, and only then did my research. However it seems it was a pretty popular camera in it’s day, good lens and a futuristic metering system with shiny LEDs, hence the name.

On foot. Lucky SHD100 in Rodinal 1+50 for 12 min at 20C.

On foot. Lucky SHD100 in Rodinal 1+50 for 12 min at 20C.

Unfortunately the metering system depends on a mercury battery, long outlawed due to environmental concerns. But the shutter works even without the battery, and I know my Sunny 16 exposures to the level that I get most of the shots close enough. Most of the images from the test roll came out OK.

Apples? Lucky SHD100 in Rodinal 1+50 for 12 min at 20C.

Apples? Lucky SHD100 in Rodinal 1+50 for 12 min at 20C.

Also, the camera is small enough that I can fit the right part between my eyes when I take pictures, so on this camera I can finally have both eyes open when I take pictures. Since I’m a left eye shooter, and most cameras are built for photographers with the right eye dominant usually I get my right hand in the way of the right eye,

Ghosts explained. Lucky SHD100 in Rodinal 1+50 for 12 min at 20C.

Ghosts explained. Lucky SHD100 in Rodinal 1+50 for 12 min at 20C.

This entry was posted by Wilhelm.

Leave a Reply

