Roll 126. Holga PAN 135

I have been most pleased with the results from the Shanghai GP3 I have been shooting in my medium format cameras, and with the Lucky SHD100 I have used in my 135 cameras. So I ordered another couple of rolls of each film, and added a Holga panoramic 35mm camera to the order at the last second.

Holga PAN 125

Holga PAN 125

Panoramic cameras seemed very fun, but most are quite expensive. The Holga PAN 135 was quite manageable however.

As you can see from the picture above it takes very wide pictures that stretch about twice the size of ordinary 35mm frames. Looking in the view finder gives a feeling of embracing the world.

The gatherer. Kodak TMax 400 in Rodinal 1+50 for 10 min.

The gatherer. Kodak TMax 400 in Rodinal 1+50 for 10 min.

As with most of these simple cameras the viewfinder does not show exactly what framing the of the final picture will be, but now that I know the difference I can probably compensate for it on subsequent rolls.

Eyes. Kodak TMax 400 in Rodinal 1+50 for 10 min.

Eyes. Kodak TMax 400 in Rodinal 1+50 for 10 min.

The pictures can get somewhat sharp in the middle, if you manage to guess the distance to the subject correctly. But near the edges things are very soft and distorted. Also the film winding is a bit moody, at least on my camera. Sometimes it locks the winding too soon, before enough film has been advanced for the next frame. Which can lead to interesting double exposures.

Another world. Kodak TMax 400 in Rodinal 1+50 for 10 min.

Another world. Kodak TMax 400 in Rodinal 1+50 for 10 min.

I’ve run three rolls through the camera this far, and developed one of them. In spite of the problems with framing, sharpness and the frame advance, the camera is very fun to take pictures with. I am sure that it will come with me in the camera bag frequently.

This entry was posted by Wilhelm.

3 thoughts on “Roll 126. Holga PAN 135

  1. Nice set of images! I have the 120Pan but since medium format is so costly I was considering the 135pan. Do you get 18 frames/roll of 35mm? With 120 I only get 8. I’m much more selective so I love the results, but 18 sounds better.

    • Thanks!

      Yes, or thereabouts, I’ve had some problems with the winding, and have only developed one roll yet.

      8? I thought you only got 6 from the 120 Pan.

      I was on the fence a long time over the 135 Pan, 120 Pan or a Horizont camera. I want to shoot portraits with a wide out of focus background, so the Horizont were right out.

      I’m still not certain I should have gotten the 135 Pan, I did a test portrait with it but it didn’t quite turn out the way I had hoped, the lens is horribly soft outside the absolute centre bit of the frame.

      But the multiple exposures were very cool, I might shift my use into such things. Only do partial winds and shoot the whole roll as a single continuous picture and then select portions of that for scanning/printing.

      There is a 135 film back for the 120 Pan, then you could shoot insanely wide panoramas using the camera you already have.

  2. Pingback: Roll 127 | Photofying

Leave a Reply

