Roll 178 – Flash photography

I went to a gaming convention over Halloween. Gaming conventions are nice places with lots of people who sit still and let themselves be photographed. So I thought it would be an excellent opportunity to try the new Chinon CE-4 that I got a while back. I had missed my old one since it broke, so it was with great joy I found another one at a good price on Ebay.

Anders. Lucky SHD100 in Rodinal 1+50 for 12 minutes at 20C.

Anders. Lucky SHD100 in Rodinal 1+50 for 12 minutes at 20C.

It was autumn, and dark inside as well as inside, so I thought I’d make my very first attempt at flash photography. Then it wouldn’t matter that I packed slow Lucky SHD100 film.

Malin. Lucky SHD100 in Rodinal 1+50 for 12 minutes at 20C.

Malin. Lucky SHD100 in Rodinal 1+50 for 12 minutes at 20C.

I have been lucky with Lucky in the past, but this batch was horrible. It is some sort of reloaded bulk film, scratches all over the place, smudges and fingerprints. Every single frame that I want to use takes at least four times the normal time in Photoshop/Gimp to do just a very basic cleanup.

Sitting. Lucky SHD100 in Rodinal 1+50 for 12 minutes at 20C.

Sitting. Lucky SHD100 in Rodinal 1+50 for 12 minutes at 20C.

But the flash worked. It was a simple Osram C260, manual without any settings at all, but it allowed me to take pictures indoors. Most of the pictures came out a bit flat. I’ll look into off camera flash or bounced flash next time.

This entry was posted by Wilhelm.

Leave a Reply

