Roll 187. Kiev 4M

Rangefinders are awesome!

kiev 4m

… or so I hear anyway. I bought an old Soviet Contax copy range-finder, a Kiev 4M with a Helios-103 53mm f1.8 lens.

The hunter. Lucky SHD-100 in Rodinal 1+50 for 12min at 20C.

The hunter. Lucky SHD-100 in Rodinal 1+50 for 12min at 20C.

And I must say I was underwhelmed by the experience. While it is a bit fun to use such a piece of history in it’s own right, the handling of the camera was a lot of work. And the rangefinder was a bit hard to use.

JNR. Lucky SHD-100 in Rodinal 1+50 for 12min at 20C.

JNR. Lucky SHD-100 in Rodinal 1+50 for 12min at 20C.

The camera has a lightmeter, but I shot with Sunny 16. The pictures didn’t turn out all that nicely. Which might be due to the film, the developer, my process, or a multitude of other reasons, but I lean towards a lack of yellow filter on the lens. Next time I’ll put a filter on and see if I like the results better.

This entry was posted by Wilhelm.

Leave a Reply

