Roll 199. Portraiture.

A friend celebrated his birthday today. The junior assistant and I were invited, and at the last minute before leaving I stuck the Pentacon Six and a handful of film in the bag.

Marie. Fomapan 400 in Rodinal 1+50 for 15min at 20C.

Marie. Fomapan 400 in Rodinal 1+50 for 15min at 20C.

I find it hard to estimate exposures indoors so I used my handheld meter for a couple of portraits. However, I measured on a clear sky and the sun disappeared behind some clouds when I took the pictures. And I didn’t notice, so the pictures came out of development rather underexposed.

Sami. Fomapan 400 in Rodinal 1+50 for 15min at 20C.

Sami. Fomapan 400 in Rodinal 1+50 for 15min at 20C.

Before the second round of pictures I stuck the macro ring from roll 191 on the lens, and while I did that the sun appeared again. The picture at the top of this post is from the second round. She is also a photographer, and borrowed the camera to shoot the picture of me shown below.

The lens I used is a Carl Zeiss Jena 120mm F2.8 Biometar, a short tele lens on medium format. It doesn’t focus close enough for the kind of portraits I want to shoot, but with a macro ring things improve drastically.

This entry was posted by Wilhelm.

Leave a Reply

