Sheets 5-8. Hacking a Shackman Two x Two

I was on a business trip. And I was bored. On EBay I saw an auction with just seconds to go, a Shackman Two x Two for less than $20. I bit.

Then, it dawned on me that shipping that camera would cost many times as much. And they haven’t made film for it in decades (However there’s hope for the future, New 55). Oh well, it will probably be a fun project some day.

shackman_front

Some day happened the day before yesterday. I unscrewed the Polaroid #500 film holder from the back and replaced it with a glorious contraption made with rubber bands.

shackman_rear

And suddenly it takes ordinary 4×5 film holders. Which leaves us with a fixed focus (42″/106cm) portrait camera. The shutter speed is fixed, and by the looks of my negatives somewhere around 1/50. Variable aperture f8-f64. Of which I guess I’ll never go above f22 as the flash sync is broken.

Sheet 5. Shanghai 4x5 in Rodinal 1+50 for 20min at 20C.

Sheet 5. Shanghai 4×5 in Rodinal 1+50 for 20min at 20C.

The two lenses, each lead into a film chamber covering one fourth of a sheet of 4×5. Once exposed the film back is rotated and two more pictures can be taken.

Sheet 6. Shanghai 4x5 in Rodinal 1+50 for 20min at 20C.

Sheet 6. Shanghai 4×5 in Rodinal 1+50 for 20min at 20C.

In it’s original application as a passport photo camera loaded with instant film that was not a problem, the picture would be cut into four separate pictures as soon as it was done. I guess I’ll have to turn the camera upside down for the second round if I want all the pictures to have the same orientation.

Sheet 8.  Shanghai 4x5 in Rodinal 1+50 for 20min at 20C.

Sheet 8. Shanghai 4×5 in Rodinal 1+50 for 20min at 20C.

Both lenses fire at the same time, but as there is no multiple exposure prevention mechanism it is just a matter of covering one lens at a time if one wants the pictures to be different. If I’m going to use this camera more I’ll glue some filter rings onto the front plate and use a lens cap to cover the holes when needed.

This set of pictures came out better, I used a little more chem in the Paterson Orbital tank and that seems to have helped.

This entry was posted by Wilhelm.

2 thoughts on “Sheets 5-8. Hacking a Shackman Two x Two

  1. Pingback: Roll 226 | Photofying

  2. Pingback: Cambo 451 Miniportrait | Photofying

Leave a Reply

