Roll 228. Nikon N80

The shutter on my Nikon F4 stuttered and got stuck once when I used it last time. So I started looking for a replacement, or maybe an F100 which should do the same tricks, but in a lighter package. They carried too large price tags however but I found an N80 (same as F80, just intended for the US market) that I got for the cost of shipping.

nikon_n80

Now, the Nikon N80 is not as good a camera as the F4 is, especially for me who have very few modern lenses. The N80 does not meter the light on non autofocusing lenses, so I just have two lenses that work well with it.

Walk softly.  Kentmere 400 in Rodinal 1+50 for 20min at 20C.

Walk softly. Kentmere 400 in Rodinal 1+50 for 20min at 20C.

I loaded the camera with my last roll of Kentmere 400 and mounted the Nikon 50mm f1.4G that usually sits on my D90 for everyday snapshots. and I went for a couple of walks with the junior assistant.

Apple tree. Kentmere 400 in Rodinal 1+50 for 20min at 20C.

Apple tree. Kentmere 400 in Rodinal 1+50 for 20min at 20C.

I couldn’t really get close enough to the flowers with the 50mm lens, so I used a magnifying glass to produce the shot below. The vignetting on the right side is due to the magnifying glass, but the rest of the frame came out pretty OK I’d say.

Magnified. Kentmere 400 in Rodinal 1+50 for 20min at 20C.

Magnified. Kentmere 400 in Rodinal 1+50 for 20min at 20C.

And since I had autofocus, fast film and the sun peeked out of the clouds on the last day I tried some action photography with the dog.

Frozen. Kentmere 400 in Rodinal 1+50 for 20min at 20C.

Frozen. Kentmere 400 in Rodinal 1+50 for 20min at 20C.

In the picture above she’s moving, but at a fraction of a thousandth of a second shutter speed it seems that she is at rest.

This entry was posted by Wilhelm.

Leave a Reply

