Roll 231. No grain, but …

I wanted another go with the Rollei ATO 2.1 film I bought a while back. I had had some problems getting good results, and now that I had changed to a new developer I thought I’d give it a go. I took my new Nikon N80 camera and 50mm f1.4G lens that I had used recently.

Space ship in the park. Rollei ATO 2.1 in HC-110 1+50 for 10 min at 20C.

Space ship in the park. Rollei ATO 2.1 in HC-110 1+50 for 10 min at 20C.

I followed a recipe I found online: Shoot at ISO 12, develop in HC-110 1+50 for 10min at 20C. So I used that as my starting point. And the best shot from the roll can be seen above. It illustrates why someone might want to misuse lithographic film for ordinary picture taking – no grain.

Problem stripe. Rollei ATO 2.1 in HC-110 1+50 for 10 min at 20C.

Problem stripe. Rollei ATO 2.1 in HC-110 1+50 for 10 min at 20C.

I’m sure there is grain there, but it’s not visible at the 1600 DPI level I scan at. Loads and loads of detail available.

Scene of the crime. Rollei ATO 2.1 in HC-110 1+50 for 10 min at 20C.

Scene of the crime. Rollei ATO 2.1 in HC-110 1+50 for 10 min at 20C.

On the other hand it is a bit tricky to get good pictures. In the less exposed portions it almost looks like black islands where no picture at all has formed. Next time I’ll put the camera into spot-metering mode, and only meter the darkest of dark spots in the frame and expose according to that.

Death in numbers. Rollei ATO 2.1 in HC-110 1+50 for 10 min at 20C.

Death in numbers. Rollei ATO 2.1 in HC-110 1+50 for 10 min at 20C.

Also, it seems it wasn’t my fault with the stripe along the edge in my previous experiments with this film. It was ruined already at the factory. Well, too late to do anything about it now I suppose, but If one remembers the problem and leaves anything important out of the lower 1/5 of the frame it should be possible to get some really nice pictures out of this film.

This entry was posted by Wilhelm.

Leave a Reply

