The economy of large format

I got the bill from PayPal today for my online purchases over the last month, mostly photography stuff. Also, I broke open a new packet of 100 sheets of paper for the 4×5 camera. I started thinking about the cost of my hobby.

Pallet. Ultrafine ELITE VC paper in Maco Ecoprint 1+50 at room temperature.

Pallet. Ultrafine ELITE VC paper in Maco Ecoprint 1+50 at room temperature.

Now that I have the gear, the cost of shooting large format isn’t all that different from shooting 135 film, the cost per frame that is. And since there is more manual work needed for every single frame on the large format camera, I find that I shoot fewer frames per unit of time. Well, provided we compare paper negatives to ordinary B/W roll film, but that’s what I shoot now that I learn and explore. There are a couple of boxes of 4×5 sheet film in the freezer, I’ll defrost them once I feel more confident in the camera handling.

Fountain. Ultrafine ELITE VC paper in Maco EcoPrint 1+50 for 30 sec at room temperature.

Fountain. Ultrafine ELITE VC paper in Maco EcoPrint 1+50 for 30 sec at room temperature.

This entry was posted by Wilhelm.

Leave a Reply

