Green X-ray film

This is my corner of order, peace and quiet. The only table that is not covered by Katen’s craft projects.

Order. Green X-ray film in month old MacoEcoprint  1+30 for a couple of minutes.

Order. Green X-ray film in month old MacoEcoprint 1+30 for a couple of minutes.

The picture is taken on green sensitive dental X-ray film. I bought a pack with 50 sheets of 12×5 film a couple of months ago, and it has been sitting in my freezer waiting for me to end the first box of Shanghai GP3 4×5 film. The portaits in the last post used the last of it.

I developed the film in trays in the darkroom under a red safelight, using the paper chemistry that I mixed a month ago. Development times were not timed, but I guess I sloshed each sheet for about two minutes before getting bored and shuffling them to the stop bath. The film has emulsion on both sides, and scratches pretty easily when wet. I used a plastic glove instead of the tongs to manipulate the sheets, but it doesn’t seem to have been enough. Next batch I’ll do in the Paterson Orbital tank, then I won’t have to touch the sheets at all until it’s time to hang them to dry.

This entry was posted by Wilhelm.

Leave a Reply

