Roll 311. Abandoned toys and macro

Summer is almost over, and I have not photographed much. To catch up a bit I took a photowalk with the the junior assistant. A Pentax ME with the rather heavy Vivitar Series 1 70-210mm f3.5 lens were stuck on one of my shoulder supports. I loaded with the crummy blue base Lucky SHD100 New that I got as replacement from Holga Direct for the absolutely horrible batch they first sent me.

Failed expedition. Lucky SHD100 in HC-110 1+60 for 10min at 20C.

Failed expedition. Lucky SHD100 in HC-110 1+60 for 10min at 20C.

This is spooled into old Fuji ISO200 cassettes, so any camera that relies on DX coding will underexpose one step. The Pentax ME does not read DX, so I just dialed in 100.

Laboratory alley. Lucky SHD100 in HC-110 1+60 for 10min at 20C.

Laboratory alley. Lucky SHD100 in HC-110 1+60 for 10min at 20C.

I sometimes get pretty OK results from this film, but yesterday was not one of those days. It was overcast, which usually works better than clear skies. Maybe the yellow filter tricked the light meter to underexpose a bit.

Macro. Lucky SHD100 in HC-110 1+60 for 10min at 20C.

Macro. Lucky SHD100 in HC-110 1+60 for 10min at 20C.

The bumble bee pictures were all rather soft after scanning. I don’t know if they weren’t very sharp in the first place, or that it is time for some sort of calibration of the scanner. Neither option is very attractive. But I’ll shoot another roll on faster film so I don’t have to keep the lens wide open.

Macro 2. Lucky SHD100 in HC-110 1+60 for 10min at 20C.

Macro 2. Lucky SHD100 in HC-110 1+60 for 10min at 20C.

This entry was posted by Wilhelm.

Leave a Reply

